80 5 7




The Combat Infantryman Badge (CIB) is a United States Army military award. The badge is awarded to infantrymen and Special Forces soldiers in the rank of Colonel and below, who personally fought in active ground combat while assigned as members of either an infantry, Ranger or Special Forces unit, of brigade size or smaller, any time after 6 December 1941. The CIB and its non-combat contemporary, the Expert Infantryman Badge (EIB) were simultaneously created during World War II to enhance the morale and prestige of service in the infantry. Specifically, it recognizes the inherent sacrifices of all infantrymen, and that, in comparison to all other military occupational specialties, infantrymen face the greatest risk of being wounded or killed in action.

After the United States' declaration of war in 1941, the War Department had difficulty recruiting infantry branch volunteers, namely due to the fact that "[o]f all Soldiers, it was recognized that the infantryman continuously operated under the worst conditions and performed a mission that was not assigned to any other Soldier or unit ... [t]he infantry, a small portion of the total Armed Forces, was suffering the most casualties while receiving the least public recognition."

On 27 October 1943, the War Department formally established the Combat Infantryman Badge (CIB) and the Expert Infantryman Badge (EIB) awards in Section I, War Department Circular 269 (27 October 1943):

The present war has demonstrated the importance of highly-proficient, tough, hard, and aggressive infantry, which can be obtained only by developing a high degree of individual all-around proficiency on the part of every infantryman. As a means of attaining the high standards desired and to foster esprit de corps in infantry units; the Expert Infantryman and the Combat Infantryman badges are established for infantry personnel.

Moreover, War Department Circular 269 stipulated: "…only one of these badges will be worn at one time" and "the Combat Infantryman badge is the highest award"; the awarding of the CIB was officially authorized with an executive order dated 15 November 1943; later, on 10 June 1944, the U.S. Congress approved an extra ten dollars in monthly pay to every infantryman awarded the CIB—excepting commissioned officers. The WWII regulations did not formally prescribe a specific combat service period establishing the infantryman’s eligibility for being awarded a Combat Infantryman Badge, thus, in 1947, the U.S. Government implemented a policy authorizing the retroactive awarding of the Bronze Star Medal to World War II veteran soldiers who had been awarded the Combat Infantryman Badge, because the CIB was awarded only to soldiers who had borne combat duties befitting the recognition conferred by a Bronze Star Medal. Both awards required a commander’s recommendation and a citation in the pertinent orders. General Marshall initiated this after Medal of Honor-recipient Major Charles W. Davis noted to him that: "It would be wonderful, if someone could design a badge for every infantryman who faces the enemy, every day and every night, with so little recognition".[5]

War Department Circular 105, dated 13 March 1944 amended WD Circular 269. Page 2, paragraph IV. BADGE – Section 1, Circular No. 269 War Department, 1943, is amended by adding paragraph 8 as follows:

8. Retroactive award of Expert and Combat Infantryman badges may be awarded to any infantryman who, on or after 6 December 1941, has established eligibility and been recommended for such award under the provisions of paragraph 2b or paragraph 3b. The Expert Infantryman badge may be awarded under paragraph 2a, only to those infantryman who have established eligibility and been recommended for such award on or after 27 October 1943.
From the beginning, Army leaders have taken care to retain the badge for the unique purpose for which it was established and to prevent the adoption of any other badge which would lower its prestige. At the close of World War II, the largest war in which armor and artillery played key roles in the ground campaigns, a review was conducted of the CIB criteria with consideration being given to creating either additional badges or authorizing the badge to cavalry and armor units. The review noted that any change in policy would detract from the prestige of the badge.

For award of the CIB a Soldier must meet the following three requirements:

Be an infantryman satisfactorily performing infantry duties.
Be assigned to an infantry unit during such time as the unit is engaged in active ground combat.
Actively engage the enemy in ground combat.
Campaign or battle credit alone is not sufficient for award of the CIB. The specific eligibility criteria for the CIB require that an officer (SSI 11 or 18) in the grade of Colonel or below, or an Army enlisted Soldier or warrant officer with an infantry or Special Forces MOS, who subsequent to 6 December 1941 has satisfactorily performed duty while assigned or attached as a member of an infantry, ranger or special forces unit of brigade, regimental, or smaller size during any period such unit was engaged in active ground combat. Eligibility for Special Forces personnel in Military Occupational Specialties (MOS) 18B, 18C, 18E, 18F, and 18Z (less Special Forces medical sergeant) accrues from 20 December 1989. Retroactive awards of the CIB to Special Forces personnel are not authorized prior to 20 December 1989. A recipient must be personally present and under hostile fire while serving in an assigned infantry or Special Forces primary duty, in a unit actively engaged in ground combat with the enemy. The unit in question can be of any size smaller than brigade.

The initial award of the CIB is authorized for award for the following qualifying wars, conflicts, and operations:

World War II: 7 December 1941 – 3 September 1945
Korean Conflict: 27 June 1950 – 27 July 1953
Republic of Vietnam Conflict (qualifying service in Laos): 2 March 1961 – 10 March 1995 (19 April 1961 to 6 October 1962)
Dominican Republic: 28 April 1965 to 1 September 1966
Korea on the DMZ: 4 January 1969 to 31 March 1994
El Salvador: 1 January 1981 to 1 February 1992
Grenada: 23 October to 21 November 1983
Joint Security Area, Panmunjom, Korea: 23 November 1984
Panama: 20 December 1989 to 31 January 1990
Southwest Asia Conflict: 17 January to 11 April 1991
Somalia: 5 June 1992 to 31 March 1994
Afghanistan (Operation Enduring Freedom): 5 December 2001 to a date to be determined.
Iraq (Operation Iraqi Freedom/Operation New Dawn): 19 March 2003 to 31 December 2011
Subsequent awards of the CIB may be awarded provided the Soldier had met eligibility criteria in two or more of the following four periods:

World War II: 7 December 1941 – 3 September 1945
Korean Conflict: 27 June 1950 – 27 July 1953
The Republic of Vietnam Conflict: Service in the Republic of Vietnam conflict (2 March 1961 to 28 March 1973) combined with qualifying service in Laos; Dominican Republic; Korea on the DMZ; El Salvador; Grenada; Joint Security Area, Panmunjom, Korea; Panama; Southwest Asia Conflict; and Somalia, regardless of whether a Soldier has served one or multiple tours in any or all of these areas. The Republic of Vietnam Conflict Era officially terminated on 10 March 1995: 2 March 1961 – 10 March 1995
Global War on Terrorism (Afghanistan, Operation Enduring Freedom) and (Iraq, Operation Iraqi Freedom/New Dawn): 18 September 2001 to a date to be determined.

#Antiques #HistoricalMemorabilia #MilitaryMemorabilia


I've never seen these. Didn't even know you could buy medals


@claregleeson me too. Looks brand new and it's really distinguishable because of the design


This is awesome. I like the shape, it's very unique

80 5 7


For the moment, all purchases can be made
inside Boxes on your mobile device

Get the app